2014 Follow up




JULY 6, 2014


The 31st biennial meeting of the Hoelscher-Buxkemper Family was held at the Mayborn Convention Center in Temple on Sunday, July 6, 2014, with the meeting called to order at 12:40 p.m. by President Linda Binns.  Opening prayer was led by Deacon Wilbur Hoelscher, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. 


Board members Karen Cosper and Carla Bottorf presented a Memorial Service, honoring 162 family members who have died since the last reunion in June, 2012.


Secretary-Treasurer Shirley Burk announced copies of the reunion meeting held on June 24, 2012, in Columbus had been distributed prior to the meeting.  A motion was made, seconded and passed that minutes be approved.


Shirley Burk also thanked all who came to the reunion to help make it a success.  All bills have not yet been paid so the outcome of the reunion at this time is uncertain.  Linda Binns reported the family finances are in good shape and the book sales pay for the rental storage fees in a climate controlled setting.


Board members in attendance were introduced: Margie Baumbach, Crosby; Linda Binns, San Angelo; Joan Black, Corpus Christi; Carla Bottorf, Kingsbury; Shirley Burk, Temple; Leonard Buxkemper, Schulenburg; Karen Cosper, Flower Mound; Clarence Entrop, Temple; Dottie Frerich, San Angelo; Barbara Fuchs, Midland; Carolyn Gottschalk, Arlington; Barbara Hoelscher, Salado; Johnny Hoelscher, Bryan; Hubert Lange, San Antonio; Reba Ott, Austin; and Doris Voltin, Rosebud.  (Absent were Jim Bernsen; O.A. Bernsen; Patti Decker; Diane Hadley; Nadine McDonald; Lee and Judith Meurer, and Paula Rodgers.)  It was announced that Mary Beth Gaspard of Temple had been elected to the board at the Saturday meeting; she was introduced.  Prayers were requested for Patti Decker and her husband, who is having health issues.  (Charles Untermeyer of Boerne was voted off the board at the Saturday meeting.)


While pictures were being taken of those over 80 and those over 90, other groups were recognized.  Clergy: Monsignor Elmer Holtman who celebrated Mass this morning and who had to leave prior to the meeting; Seminarian Darrell Kostiha, and Deacon Wilbur Hoelscher of San Antonio.  Past reunion chairpersons present:, Clarence Entrop, Rosamond Bedrich, Doris Voltin, Dottie Frerich, Alice Hoelscher, and Carla Bottorf.  Past board members present: Rosamond Bedrich and Dolores Evans. 


Nathalene Hoelscher of the Robstown/Corpus area was recognized as the only person to attend all 31 family reunions.  Those attending a reunion for the first time were also recognized.


Registration report was given by Barbara Hoelscher, Chairperson.  A total of 514 were registered; those family members who belong to more than one section were counted in both sections and thus the total from each family will not add up to 514.  Per family, Ben had 48, Anton 68, William 96, Elizabeth 117, and Joe 214.   


Awards were presented to:

Oldest Man                                                    Lloyd Chung, 94, of Fort Worth

Oldest Lady                                                    Clara Raabe, 93, of Gilmer

Youngest Baby Boy                                       Travis Christopher Snapka, 11 weeks old, son of                                                                           Brian and Cristina Snapka of Corpus Christi

Youngest Baby Girl                                        Jayda Ann Brown, 13 months, daughter of Mike                                                                           and Jennifer Brown of Denison

Couple Married Longest                               James and Marcella Pelzel, 66 years, of Rosebud

Newly-Wed Couple                                       Michael and Mari-Jo Fuchs, 8 days, of Garden City

Largest Family                                                            Victoria, Jessica, Beka, Jonathan, Alyssa and Jayda                                                                       Brown of Denison

Greatest Distance Traveled                          Ivan Baumbach from state of Washington

Several families with four generations present were also recognized.


Raffle prizes were won by Margie Baumbach of Crosby, quilt; Danielle Floyd, of Plainview, $200 gift card; Carolyn Hahn of Temple, $100 gift card; and Rosamond Bedrich, of Temple, $100 gift card.


Doris Voltin, Reunion Chairperson, recognized various family members and their families for help with the reunion, especially Johnny Hoelscher and family, souvenirs; Barbara Hoelscher and family, registration; Rosamond and George Bedrich and Mary Beth Gaspard, catering and silent auction; and all the many people in this area who had helped in any way, including those who brought quilts and those who did the set-up.


President Binns announced that a definite site for the next reunion has not been decided.  Larger cities are generally too costly for facilities and/or motel costs.  The board will be checking on facilities in smaller cities that could accommodate the family, but with smaller turnouts, it may be possible to consider smaller halls/centers.  The location and date of the next reunion will be put on family Facebook page, family website (www.h-bfamily.org) and in the 2015 newsletter.  She also again requested that address changes be sent to Barbara Hoelscher in Salado; newspaper clippings to Reba Ott in Austin; and announced that books are still available at the reunion and through orders to Shirley Burk. 


Carla Bottorf read a proclamation from the City of Temple, recognizing July 5-6, 2014 as “The Hoelscher-Buxkemper Family Reunion” and the meeting was adjourned at 1:40 p.m.


Submitted by:
Shirley M. Burk, Secretary-Treasurer, HBF